By 2012/09/15 0 Comments

Soccer Goal Kicks – Is it possible to score from one?


Yes, it possible to score a goal from a goal kick but only in the opponent team’s goal. What you probably do not know is that if a player by accident or on purpose decides to kick the ball directly inside its own goal the referee will disallow the goal and, following the international Board Rules, have to award a corner kick to the opposing team. The exact same decisions have to be taken by the referee if the two aforementioned situations happen in the sequence of a free kick, corner kick or a dropped ball (method of restarting the game when, while the ball is still in play, the referee is required to stop play temporarily).

This last rule (dropped ball) is a very recent amendment of the Laws of the Game introduced by the International Board in March 2012 and that came into force on the 1st of June 2012.


Tags: , ,

Post a Comment